Personen- und Einrichtungssuche

Herr Prof. Dr. Oliver Krüger

Bild der Person Herr Prof. Dr. Oliver Krüger - Öffnet das Bild in voller Größe auf einer neuen Seite


Curriculum Vitae

Born 24.01.1975, married, two children


October 1994 - July 1996
Studies of biology, Bielefeld University

October 1996 - September 1997
Master of Science, University of Oxford, UK

April 1998 - February 2000
PhD student (Bielefeld University) under the supervision of Prof. Fritz Trillmich and Dr. Jan Lindström (Cambridge University): Life history strategies and population ecology of common buzzard (Buteo buteo) and goshawk (Accipiter gentilis)

Scientific Positions

October 2000 - September 2003
Postdoc with Prof. Nick Davies, Department of Zoology, University of Cambridge, UK

October 2003 - June 2009
Royal Society Research Fellow, Department of Zoology, University of Cambridge, UK

July 2009 - March 2010
Royal Society Research Fellow and Proleptic Senior Lecturer, Department of Biology & Biochemistry, University of Bath, UK

April 2010 - March 2015
Heisenberg-Professor (W3) for Animal Behaviour, Faculty of Biology, Bielefeld University

Since 2013
Professor and Head of Department of Animal Behaviour, Bielefeld University

Awards and Recognitions

First prize, Jugend forscht (German National Contest for Young Scientists)
First prize, European Union Contest for Young Scientists

Leopoldina Prize, Biannual award of the Leopoldina Academy of Sciences

Outstanding Young Investigator, Association for the Study of Animal Behaviour (ASAB)

Walther Arndt Prize of the German Zoological Society (DZG)
Hans Löhrl Prize of the German Ornithologists Union (DO-G)

Niko Tinbergen Award of the Ethological Society

Since 2013
Member of the Advisory Board, German Ornithologists Union (DO-G)

Research Prize of the Ornithological Union of Northrhine-Westphalia (NWO)

Since 2018
Speaker of the SFB TRR 212 “NC3”, Bielefeld University and University of Münster
Member of the Advisory Board, Institute for Avian Research, Wilhelmshaven

Since 2020
Elected Member of the IUCN SSC pinniped specialist group

Since 2021
Member of the Advisory Board, German Primate Centre (DPZ)

Since 2022
Member of the peer review college in zoology of the Humboldt Foundation


German National Scholarship Foundation

Biology & Biotechnology Student Research Council Scholarship

Marie Curie Fellowship of the European Union
Churchill College Junior Research Fellwoship

Royal Society Research Fellowship

Heisenberg-Professorship of the German Science Foundation (DFG)

Editing and Reviewing

Associate Editor: BMC Evolution & Ecology and Journal of Ornithology

Czech Science Foundation, German Research Foundation (DFG), Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP), National Research Foundation (SA), National Science Foundation (USA), Natural Environmental Research Council (NERC), Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO), Hungarian Science Foundation

Am Econ Rev, Am Nat, Anim Behav, Anim Conserv, Auk, Avian Science, Behav Ecol, Behav Ecol Sociobiol, Biol J Linn Soc, Biol Lett, Biol Rev, Bird Study, BMC Ecol, BMC Evol Biol, Conserv Biol, Curr Biol, Diversity Distribut, Ecography, Ecology, Ecol Appl, Ecol Lett, Ethology, Evolution, Evol Ecol, Funct Ecol, Global Ecol Biogeo, Ibis, J Anim Ecol, J Appl Ecol, J Avian Biol, J Comp Psychol, J Evol Biol, J Orn, J Raptor Res, J Zool, Nature Comms, Oecologia, Oikos, Oryx, PLoS One, Pop Ecol, Proc R Soc B, Wildl Biol

Research and Study Trips
2022: Antarctica, Galapagos, Maldives, Svalbard, Greenland, Madagascar, Mauritius
2021: Galapagos
2020: Antarctica
2019: Antarctica, Galapagos, Ecuador
2018: Namibia, Svalbard, Iceland, Ecuador, Galapagos
2017: Maldives, Galapagos, New Zealand, Antarctica
2016: Indonesia, Philippines, Greenland, Canada, Antarctica, India
2015: Costa Rica, Svalbard, Canada, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela, Trinidad
2014: Galapagos, USA, Antarctica
2013: Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Galapagos
2012: China, Russia, Svalbard, Antarctica
2011: South Africa, Galapagos, Russia, Alaska
2010: Canada, Greenland, Antarctica
2009: South Africa, Russia, Alaska, Greenland, Svalbard, New Zealand
2008: Canada, Greenland, USA, Antarctica
2007: Antarctica, Chile, South Africa, Greenland, Canada, Alaska
2006: South Africa, Mozambique, Madagascar, Comoros, Seychelles
2005: Antarctica, South Africa, Cameroon, Brazil, Peru
2004: Antarctica, South Africa, Canada, Indonesia
2003: Antarctica, Japan, South Africa, Brazil
2002: Antarctica, South Africa, Tanzania, Canada, New Zealand
2001: South Africa
2000: South Africa, Australia, Antarctica, Uganda
1999: Zimbabwe, Kenya, Botswana, Tanzania
1998: Tanzania, Uganda, Antarctica
1997: Tanzania
1996: USA, Tanzania, Uganda
1995: Costa Rica, Nepal, India
1994: Uganda, USA